Gemma is a mother of 2 who joined us in January 2015. She is trained to Level 3 in Early Years Educator. Gemma is Key Worker to a group of children and works 3 days a week in Big Bears. Gemma is also our Phonics Coordinator.


Keyworker Letter

Hi, my name is Gemma. I have been working at Sandy Bear’s since January 2015. I decided to have a career change and joined as an apprentice and have completed my level 2 in Children and Young People’s workforce, along with Level 3 paediatric first aid, supporting 0-2 year olds and phonics courses. I am now working towards my Level 3 in Early Years Educator.
I love working at Sandy bear’s because I have been given the opportunity to play a vital role in children’s lives by supporting and encouraging them to develop their skills to their full potential. Even though I have my own children I never really understood how amazing it can be just to see the happiness on another child’s face when you have helped them to achieve something, whether it be as small as putting a shoe on or writing their own name. It is not only the children that give me great satisfaction but every member of staff who always go that extra mile to ensure the children are happy. I have learnt a lot from my colleagues who have given me the support I need to fulfill my role.

I love my role in Big Bear’s with the 2-5 year olds because it’s amazing to see them developing all their skills and creating new ones. It’s interesting and funny to watch them interacting, I love how the older children include the younger ones in their play and show them how to do things in our daily routines like washing hands or helping them up if they have fallen over. I am now a key worker and feel so proud when I have helped a child to achieve something new or develop that skill. I love spending one-to-one time, getting to know their likes and dislikes and forming a special bond and encouraging them to try new things and to join in with others. There’s nothing more heart-warming than hearing the children shout “GEMMA” and them give me a big cuddle!

I live with my husband Dave and our two children Andrew and Phoebe and our two cats Poppie and Daisy. My favourite colour is purple, I love meerkats and owls. I love all the Harry Potter books and my favourite tv show is Friends. I love spending time with family friends, I have a passion for crafts (too many to name!) and sewing.

I’m looking forward in becoming your childs new Keyworker.

Gemma x


To Top